Entree / Main Dishes, Healthy, Pastas, Recipes, Summer

Turkey and Zucchini Meatballs

Jump to Recipe

Logo Template

I LOVE PASTA.  I could eat pasta every single night and never get sick of it.  There are so many different options, I can never get sick of it.  Despite all of that, sometimes all you want is good ol’ spaghetti and meatballs.   It brings back memories of my childhood, where my saint of a mother would have to make different pasta options and sauces for me and my brother. I would never eat spaghetti and that is all he would eat, etc….. Thankfully I have come around to spaghetti and stopped being so demanding about my pasta shape.  As long as it is cooked to a perfect al’ dente, I’ll eat it!

So back to spaghetti and meatballs… I really wanted to make them a little bit healthier. So I decide why not add one of the most versitle vegetables EVER — Zucchini. Yep, I went there.  I swear, you won’t even notice it!  Just mix together your standard meatball (I used turkey) ingredients + zucchini, and you are good to go!

img_9162-animation

I have had success with both frying AND baking, so you can go either route. I find frying is easiest if you are eating right away, all you have to do is add sauce.  However baking is easiest if you want to freeze them. This way you just pop them in the oven, bake until cooked through, then just pop them in the freezer!
small town eats

Just serve over spaghetti topped with chopped basil and grated parmesan and you are all set!

Zucchini Turkey Meatballs

  • Servings: 12 meatballs
  • Time: 1 hour
  • Difficulty: Easy
  • Print

Turkey and Zucchini Meatballs are refreshing and healthy spin on a family favorite!

Ingredients

-1 lb ground turkey
-2 cups grated zucchini
-1 egg
-1/2 cup breadcrumbs (+ extra if needed)
-1 tsp salt
-1 tbs italian seasoning
-1/4 cup parmesan cheese

Directions

  1. Mix together all ingredients, adding more breadcrumbs if the mixture is too sticky.
  2. Then either: brown on the stove until cooked through or bake for 45 minutes at 350°


This recipe is courtesy of The Couple That Makes

small town eats (2)

Leave a Reply

